Setting Out in September

Well, here we are!  Welcome to my very first post! September has barely taken its first breath, and already the chill of frost is seeping through my window screens. I try not to be hasty with the passing of one season to the next (a sure path to disappointment), but I will admit that I am looking forward to the joys brought on by fall. The bright-colored leaves, pecks of hand-picked apples, baked acorn squash with butter and brown sugar, a bounty of black walnuts… all of these together serve to soften, to some extent, the grief of a summer too fleeting. It’s a beautiful sadness, though, in my mind.

In honor of the turning, a poem by Ono no Komachi of the Japanese Court, translated by Jane Hirshfield and Mariko Aratani:

Seeing the moonlight
spilling down
through these trees,
my heart fills to the brim
with autumn.

Love,
arrow

Leave a Reply

